Monday, December 18th, 2023

All-American Announces Five Finalists For The Defensive Player of the Year Award

The country’s top five players on the defensive side of the ball tapped for the award

2024 All-American Bowl to be Played Sat., Jan. 6 at 1 p.m. ET on NBC and Peacock

STAMFORD, Conn. – Dec. 18, 2023 – The All-American Bowl Selection Committee announced the finalists for the Defensive Player of the Year Award, given annually to the top defensive player in the country.

The All-American Bowl’s Defensive Player of the Year winner will be named during the 2024 All-American Bowl Awards Show on Friday, January 5th in San Antonio, Texas.

Past winners of the award include Jaelan Phillips, Micah Parsons, and Bryan Bresee.

This year’s finalists are:

KJ Bolden DB Buford High School Buford GA
Sammy Brown LB Jefferson High School Jefferson GA
LJ McCray DL Mainland High School Daytona Beach FL
Xadavien Sims DL Durant High School Durant OK
Kyngstonn Viliamu-Asa LB St. John Bosco High School Bellflower CA


About the All-American Bowl

As an NBC Sports-owned property, the All-American Bowl is part of a marquee lineup of elite events that includes the Olympics, the Premier League, and the number one primetime show since 2011: Sunday Night Football. The All-American Bowl is annually the most-watched, most-talked about, and most-prestigious high school all-star event with more than 4,100,000 unique television viewers and over 20,000 in attendance. The history and tradition of the All-American Bowl is unparalleled: 562 draft picks; 97 Super Bowl champions; 217 Pro Bowl selections; 18 Heisman finalists including, but not limited to: Bryce Young, Christian McCaffrey, Tim Tebow, Derrick Henry, DeVonta Smith, and Trevor Lawrence. For more information, visit or follow us on Facebook, X, and Instagram (@AABonNBC).