Friday, December 30th, 2022

Finalists Named for 2023 All-American Bowl’s Player of the Year Award

Six of the nation’s best seniors make the final list for high school football’s biggest individual award

2023 All-American Bowl to be Played Sat., Jan. 7 at 1 p.m. ET on NBC and Peacock

STAMFORD, Conn. – December 30, 2022 – The All-American Bowl Selection Committee announced the finalists for the prestigious All-American Bowl’s Player of the Year Award. The award is given annually to the nation’s most outstanding high school senior football player and is the most distinguished individual award given in high school football.

The All-American Bowl’s Player of the Year winner will be named during the 2023 All-American Bowl Awards Show on Friday, January 6th in San Antonio, Texas.

Past winners of the award include Cade Klubnik, Trevor Lawrence, and Bryce Young.

This year’s finalists are:


Drayk Bowen LB Andrean High School Merrillville IN
Caleb Downs DB Mill Creek High School Hoschton GA
Brandon Inniss WR American Heritage School Plantation FL
Dante Moore QB Martin Luther King Jr. Senior High School Detroit MI
Blake Nichelson LB Manteca High School Manteca CA
Rueben Owens II RB El Campo High School El Campo TX


About the All-American Bowl                                                                           

As an NBC Sports-owned property, the All-American Bowl is part of a marquee lineup of elite events that includes the Olympics, the NHL, the Premier League, and the number one primetime show since 2011: Sunday Night Football. The All-American Bowl is annually the most-watched, most-talked about, and most-prestigious high school all-star event with more than 4,100,000 unique television viewers and over 20,000 in attendance. The history and tradition of the All-American Bowl is unparalleled: 533 draft picks; 86 Super Bowl champions; 193 Pro Bowl selections; 17 Heisman finalists including, but not limited to: Odell Beckham Jr., Christian McCaffrey, Tim Tebow, Derrick Henry, DeVonta Smith, and Trevor Lawrence. For more information, visit, or follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram (@AABonNBC)