Wednesday, December 28th, 2022

All-American Announces Five Finalists For The Defensive Player of the Year Award

The country’s top five players on the defensive side of the ball tapped for the award

2023 All-American Bowl to be Played Sat., Jan. 7 at 1 p.m. ET on NBC and Peacock

STAMFORD, Conn. – December 28, 2022 – The All-American Bowl Selection Committee announced the finalists for the Defensive Player of the Year Award, given annually to the top defensive player in the country.

The All-American Bowl’s Defensive Player of the Year winner will be named during the 2023 All-American Bowl Awards Show on Friday, January 6th in San Antonio, Texas.

Past winners of the award include Jaelan Phillips, Micah Parsons, and Bryan Bresee.

This year’s finalists are:

CJ Allen LB Lamar County High School Barnesville GA
Drayk Bowen LB Andrean High School Merrillville IN
Vic Burley DL Warner Robins High School Warner Robins GA
Caleb Downs DB Mill Creek High School Hoschton GA
Blake Nichelson LB Manteca High School Manteca CA


About the All-American Bowl                                                                           

As an NBC Sports-owned property, the All-American Bowl is part of a marquee lineup of elite events that includes the Olympics, the NHL, the Premier League, and the number one primetime show since 2011: Sunday Night Football. The All-American Bowl is annually the most-watched, most-talked about, and most-prestigious high school all-star event with more than 4,100,000 unique television viewers and over 20,000 in attendance. The history and tradition of the All-American Bowl is unparalleled: 533 draft picks; 86 Super Bowl champions; 193 Pro Bowl selections; 17 Heisman finalists including, but not limited to: Odell Beckham Jr., Christian McCaffrey, Tim Tebow, Derrick Henry, DeVonta Smith, and Trevor Lawrence. For more information, visit, or follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram (@AABonNBC)