Wednesday, May 27th, 2020


WWE Superstar Dwayne “The Rock”, Johnson Headlined Five WrestleManias and Won 1991 College Football National Championship at University of Miami

Roddick, a Tennis Hall of Famer, Won 2003 U.S. Open Singles Title & Ranked #1 in World in 2003-04

NBCSN Presents 20 SNL Episodes Hosted by Sports Stars in Primetime This Week

Content to Stream on and the NBC Sports App

STAMFORD, Conn. – May 27, 2020Dwayne Johnson and Andy Roddick headline tonight’s classic sports-themed Saturday Night Live episodes on NBCSN, beginning at 7 p.m. ET. Johnson, a longtime WWE star, headlined five WrestleManias and won the 1991 College Football National Championship as a defensive lineman at the University of Miami. Roddick is an International Tennis Hall of Fame member, former World No. 1 tennis player and won the 2003 U.S. Open singles title.

This week in primetime, NBCSN televises 20 SNL episodes dating back to the early 1990s that were hosted by the biggest names in sports. Hosts for the remainder of SNL Week include (NBCSN appearance order): Dwayne Johnson, John Cena, Ronda Rousey, Michael Phelps, Derek Jeter, Charles Barkley and Michael Jordan.

Programming will also stream on and the NBC Sports app.

Below is more information on tonight’s SNL Week programming:


Dwayne Johnson: March 18, 2000 7 p.m. NBCSN
Dwayne Johnson: April 13, 2002 8 p.m. NBCSN
Dwayne Johnson: March 7, 2009 9 p.m. NBCSN
Andy Roddick: Nov. 8, 2003 10 p.m. NBCSN

DWAYNE JOHNSON: MARCH 18, 2000 AT 7 P.M. ET; APRIL 13, 2002 AT 8 P.M. ET; AND MARCH 7, 2009 AT 9 P.M. ET

Dwayne Johnson is featured in three episodes of SNL on NBCSN tonight at 7 p.m. ET. Overall, Johnson has hosted Saturday Night Live five times, and the remaining two shows he hosted will be presented tomorrow night as part of SNL Week on NBCSN.

Johnson began his athletic career on the football field, where he played defensive tackle at the University of Miami and won a national championship in 1991. Johnson entered the professional wrestling ranks in 1996 where he quickly gained acclaim inside the ring, as ‘The Rock.’ Considered one of the greatest professional wrestlers of all time, he has won a number of championships in different disciplines, and headlined many of the WWE’s biggest events.

After his time in the ring, Johnson became an actor, where he has become one of the highest grossing box-office stars of all time. Notable films and television series that he has starred in include the Fast & Furious and Jumanji franchises, Moana, The Titan Games and Ballers. In addition to also being an author and businessman, Johnson has appeared twice on the Time 100 Most Influential People in the World list (2016, 2019).

ANDY RODDICK: NOV. 8, 2003 AT 10 P.M. ET

One of the best American male tennis players in history, Andy Roddick was ranked No. 1 in the world shortly after winning the 2003 U.S. Open. Roddick is the most recent American male player to win a Grand Slam singles event, reach the top ranking, and claim the year-end world No. 1 ranking, which he did in 2003. He made his Saturday Night Live hosting appearance on Nov. 8, 2003, two months after his U.S. Open men’s singles title. He became the second professional tennis player to host SNL, following Chris Evert in 1989.

Roddick reached four other Grand Slam finals (Wimbledon in 2004, 2005 and 2009, and the U.S. Open in 2006), but lost to rival Roger Federer each time. Roddick retired from professional tennis after the 2012 U.S. Open. In retirement, he has focused on the Andy Roddick Foundation, and in 2017, was inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

Below is each night’s NBCSN highlighted content throughout the remainder of the week:

Wednesday, May 27 Dwayne Johnson: March 18, 2000 7 p.m.
  Dwayne Johnson: April 13, 2002 8 p.m.
  Dwayne Johnson: March 7, 2009 9 p.m.
  Andy Roddick: Nov. 8, 2003 10 p.m.
Thursday, May 28 Dwayne Johnson: March 28, 2015 7 p.m.
  John Cena: Dec. 10, 2016 8 p.m.
  Dwayne Johnson: May 20, 2017 9 p.m.
  Ronda Rousey: Jan. 23, 2016 10 p.m.
Friday, May 29 Michael Phelps: Sept. 13, 2008 7 p.m.
  Derek Jeter: Dec. 1, 2001 8 p.m.
  Charles Barkley: Jan. 7, 2012 9 p.m.
  Charles Barkley: March 3, 2018 10 p.m.
  Michael Jordan: Sept. 28, 1991 11 p.m.