Wednesday, May 13th, 2020


Awards to be Announced Live Daily on NBC Sports Northwest and Rip City Radio’s The Brian Noe Show

PORTLAND, Oregon (May 13, 2020) – Sport Oregon and NBC Sports Northwest have partnered to celebrate local athletes and coaches through the 2020 Oregon Sports Awards, which return for exclusive announcement on NBC Sports Northwest in lieu of a live event. 2020 Oregon Sports Awards winner announcements and interviews begin Monday, May 18, and continue daily through Friday, May 29 on NBC Sports Northwest.

Now in its 68th year of existence, the annual event has partnered with NBC Sports Northwest once again to announce all awards live exclusively on NBC Sports Northwest and Rip City Radio 620AM.  Award-winners will be revealed on The Brian Noe Show every weekday between 9 a.m. and Noon PT beginning Monday, May 18, and will also be featured on and social media.  Follow @ORSportsAwards and @NBCSNorthwest on Twitter and Instagram for daily updates, audience engagement opportunities, and Awards content.

Jim Etzel, CEO of Sport Oregon, will kick off the 2020 Awards with an appearance on NBC Sports Northwest’s “The Bridge” on Wednesday, May 13th at 6 p.m. PT and The Brian Noe Show on Friday, May 15th at 9 a.m. PT.  The Oregon Sports Award announcements will then be featured daily starting May 18th on The Brian Noe Show with the reveal of the Lou Burge Special Olympics Athlete of the Year award winners.

Due to the cancellation of spring prep and college sports and the suspension of professional sports in response to COVID-19, the awards list has been modified from previous years. Spring prep sports awards and the Harry Glickman Award honoring an outstanding professional athlete of the year have been eliminated for 2020. Twenty-one awards will be presented on-air, including the first-ever Female Prep Wrestler of the Year award as well as the Lou Burge Female Special Olympics Athlete of the Year.

Finalists were nominated and selected through a statewide voting panel consisting of local TV, radio and sports journalists, and respected sports professionals.  To learn more about the vote, the event’s history and each individual award, visit the Oregon Sports Awards website here.

2020 Oregon Sports Awards Categories and Finalists:

    • Prep Football Player of the Year: Keith Brown | Lebanon, Damir Collins | Jefferson, Casey Filkins | Lake Oswego, Silas Starr | Central Catholic

    • Prep Volleyball Player of the Year: Ryann Gregg | Corvallis, Rylee Troutman | Ridgeview, Izzi Szulczewski | Mountainside

    • Prep Soccer Player of the Year (Female): Lindsey Antonson | Wilsonville, Callan Harrington | Jesuit, Nedya Sawan | Mountainside

    • Prep Soccer Player of the Year (Male): Edgar Monroy | Corvallis, Carlos Reyes-Aviles | South Albany, Vincent Rose | Franklin

    • Prep Cross-Country Runner of the Year (Female): Teaghan Knox | Summit, Fiona Max | Summit, Kate Peters | Lake Oswego

    • Prep Cross-Country Runner of the Year (Male): Evan Holland | Ashland, Ahmed Ibrahim | Parkrose, Aidan Palmer | Franklin

    • Prep Wrestler of the Year (Female): Fiona McConnell | Milwaukie, Destiny Rodriguez | West Linn, Nimo Sheikh | Century

    • Prep Wrestler of the Year (Male): Santos Cantu | Crescent Valley, Blake Larsen | Dayton, Beau Ohlson | Mountain View

    • Prep Basketball Player of the Year (Female): Cameron Brink | Mountainside, Sage Kramer | Philomath, McKelle Meek | Southridge

    • Prep Basketball Player of the Year (Male): Nathan Bittle | Crater, Ben Gregg | Clackamas, Nate Rawlings-Kibonge | Jefferson

    • Prep Swimmer of the Year (Female): Eva Carlson | Catlin Gabel, Elizabeth Cook | Catlin Gabel, Kaitlyn Dobler | Aloha

    • Prep Swimmer of the Year (Male): Luke Bachard | Newport, Caden Shanks | Newport, Nick Simons | Jesuit

    • Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Female): Kory Oleson | Linfield College, Amelia Pullen | Warner Pacific University, Taylor Ristvedt | Southern Oregon University

    • Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Male): Mitchell Fink | Oregon Technical Institute, Joseph Gonzalez | Western Oregon University, Mason Koch | George Fox University, Wyatt Smith | Linfield College

    • Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year (Female): Ruthy Hebard | University of Oregon, Sabrina Ionescu | University of Oregon, Satou Sabally | University of Oregon

    • Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year (Male): Justin Herbert | University of Oregon, Payton Pritchard | University of Oregon, Penei Sewell | University of Oregon

    • Slats Gill Sportsperson of the Year: Mario Cristobal | University of Oregon, Arne Ferguson | Western Oregon University, Kelly Graves | University of Oregon, Josh Rohlfing | Southern Oregon University


The Oregon Sports Awards show was held at the Stanford Theatre at Nike World Headquarters from 2001-2018. Sport Oregon intends to announce a future show location for 2021.

Please contact the Oregon Sports Awards team with questions pertaining to media relations, the 2020 award-winners and finalists and plans for future Oregon Sports Awards.  



About NBC Sports Northwest:  NBC Sports Northwest, part of NBC Sports Group, is the exclusive network of the Portland Trail Blazers and provides in-depth regional sports content covering the Seattle Seahawks, Oregon Ducks, Beavers and outdoor programming. In addition to live event coverage, NBC Sports Northwest offers Emmy Award-winning original programming, news, analysis, and compelling content across linear, digital, audio and mobile platforms. NBC Sports Northwest can be found across all social media platforms (@NBCSnorthwest), on, and the MyTeams by NBC Sports app.