Wednesday, May 22nd, 2019


Live Coverage from Roland-Garros Begins This Monday, May 27, Live at Noon ET on NBC and Culminates with Women’s Final on Saturday, June 8
and Men’s Final on Sunday, June 9

 Mary Carillo and John McEnroe to Call the Action on NBC’s Opening Day of Coverage, Monday, May 27 Live at Noon ET

 Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer and Serena Williams Headline French Open Competitors, Marking First Time Since 2015 All Three Will Compete at Roland-Garros in Same Tournament

 Coverage Streamed on and the NBC Sports app

STAMFORD, Conn. – May 22, 2019 – Mike Tirico and Dan Hicks will join NBC Sports’ coverage of the French Open, with Tirico calling matches on the weekend of June 1-2 and Hicks handling the semifinals and finals from June 6-9. They will be joined by analysts Mary Carillo and John McEnroe, who teamed to win the mixed doubles title at the 1977 French Open.

For the opening day of matches on Monday, May 27 (live at Noon ET), Carillo will handle play-by-play alongside analyst McEnroe as the first round begins from Roland-Garros in Paris, France. Live coverage culminates with the women’s final on Saturday, June 8, at 9 a.m. ET and the men’s final Sunday, June 9 at 9 a.m. ET on NBC.

Headlining the men’s competition is 17-time Grand Slam champion Rafael Nadal, who has won a record 11 French Open titles (2005-2008, 2010-2014, 2017-2018), including the past two at Roland-Garros. He’ll be joined by No. 1-ranked and 15-time Grand Slam champion Novak Djokovic, who has won the past three Grand Slam titles (2019 Australian Open, 2018 US Open and 2018 Wimbledon); No. 3-ranked Roger Federer, who has won 20 career Grand Slam singles titles, the most in history by a male player; and rising young stars seeking their first Grand Slam title, No. 4-ranked Dominic Thiem, who lost to Nadal in the 2018 French Open final and has reached the tournament’s semifinals in each of the past three years, and No. 6-ranked Stefanos Tsitsipas, who defeated Nadal in the semifinal of the 2019 Madrid Open before falling to Djokovic in the final.

Serena Williams, who has the most career Grand Slam titles in the Open Era with 23, looks to capture her 4th career championship at Roland-Garros. Joining Williams in the 2019 field are: 2018 French Open champion Simona Halep, who looks to defend her title after twice placing second in the tournament, before breaking through last year to secure her first career Grand Slam title; No. 1-ranked Naomi Osaka, who has won the past two Grand Slam championships (2019 Australian Open and 2018 US Open); Florida native and 2018 French Open runner-up Sloane Stephens; and No. 5-ranked Angelique Kerber, who won the 2018 Wimbledon title and would earn a career Grand Slam with a French Open championship.

Following is the television schedule for NBC Sports Group’s coverage of the 2019 French Open:

Date Time Round Network
Mon., May 27 Noon ET First Round (LIVE) NBC
Sat., June 1 11 a.m. ET Third or Fourth Round (LIVE) NBC
Sun., June 2 11 a.m. ET Third or Fourth Round (LIVE) NBC
Thurs., June 6 11 a.m. (all time zones) Women’s Semifinals (LIVE ET) NBC & NBCSN
Fri., June 7 11 a.m. (all time zones) Men’s Semifinals (LIVE ET) NBC & NBCSN
Sat., June 8 9 a.m. ET Women’s Final (LIVE) NBC
Sun., June 9 9 a.m. ET Men’s Final (LIVE) NBC and the NBC Sports app — NBC Sports Group’s live streaming product for mobile devices, tablets, and connected TVs — will stream coverage on NBCSN and NBC via “TV Everywhere,” giving consumers additional value to for their subscription service, and making high quality content available to MVPD customers both in and out of the home and on multiple platforms. The NBC Sports app is available on the iTunes App Store, Google Play, Windows Store, Roku Channel Store, Apple TV and Amazon Fire.

NBC AND THE FRENCH OPEN: In 1975, NBC became the first American television network to provide coverage of the French Open when the network signed a three-year deal with the French Tennis Federation.  The tournament was covered by CBS from 1980-82 and returned to NBC in 1983, where it has remained since. This is NBC’s 37th consecutive year televising the event.