Wednesday, October 17th, 2018


Jimmie Johnson and Clint Bowyer Join Friday’s Celebratory Episode Live from Kansas Speedway


STAMFORD, Conn. – October 17, 2018 – NASCAR America, NBCSN’s daily motorsports show, will air its 1,000th episode this Friday, October 19 at 6 p.m. ET. The historic and celebratory episode will include special appearances by seven-time Cup Series Champion Jimmie Johnson as well as Cup Series Playoff contender and Kansas native Clint Bowyer, live from NBC Sports Group’s “Peacock Pit Box” located on pit road at Kansas Speedway.


Coverage will include special editions for two of NASCAR America’s long-running and recurring segments, My Home Track and Scan All. NASCAR America will also look back at the best bloopers and iconic moments that took place over the last five seasons. Friday’s show follows a week of celebration for NASCAR America, with special throwback segments included in each day’s show.


NASCAR on NBC’s Krista Voda will host NASCAR America’s 1000th episode alongside NASCAR on NBC analysts and former drivers Jeff Burton, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kyle Petty, Dale Jarrett and NBC Sports pit reporter Marty Snider.


“Celebrating the 1,000th episode is an accomplishment that NBC Sports is extremely proud of,” said Jeff Behnke, VP of NASCAR Production for the NBC Sports Group. “For four and half years NASCAR America has showcased the personalities of drivers and teams, and given fans an entertaining and informative platform to enjoy the latest news in motorsports.”


NASCAR America launched February 24, 2014, as a daily 30-minute news and information program dedicated to the nation’s longstanding fascination with speed and stock car racing. Since its debut, the show has expanded to 60-minute telecasts, added new studios, created more than 20 daily and weekly segments, and welcomed a growing collection of on-air hosts, analysts and recurring guests.


The following are a collection of NASCAR stats and events since NBC Sports Group debuted NASCAR America in 2014:


  • NASCAR America has provided live coverage of all of NASCAR’s major announcements and transitions, including the move to an elimination-style Playoffs in 2014, the addition of stage racing in 2017, the rise of the sport’s future stars and the retirement of racing legends, including Dale Earnhardt Jr., Hall of Famer Jeff Gordon, Tony Stewart, Danica Patrick and Carl Edwards.


  • There have been 25 different Monster Energy Series race winners in the NASCAR America Kyle Busch leads all drivers with 22 wins, followed by Kevin Harvick with 21 wins.


  • Nine different drivers have earned their first Monster Energy Series win since NASCAR America The most recent was Chase Elliott, who won at Watkins Glen on August 5, 2018. Others include emerging stars Ryan Blaney, Austin Dillon, Erik Jones and Kyle Larson.


  • NASCAR America has witnessed the crowning of four different Monster Energy Series Champions: Kevin Harvick (2014), Kyle Busch (2015), Jimmie Johnson (2016) and Martin Truex Jr. (2017). Each won the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway to take the championship trophy.


  • There have been 17 last-lap passes in the NASCAR America era, including the most recent Playoff race at Talladega (Oct. 14, 2018).




Date Time (ET) Network
Wednesday, Oct. 17 5 p.m. NBCSN
Thursday, Oct. 18 5 p.m. NBCSN
Friday, Oct. 19 6 p.m. NBCSN
Saturday, Oct. 20 12:30 p.m. NBCSN




The official home of the NASCAR Playoffs, NBC Sports Group presents the final 20 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series races, final 19 NASCAR Xfinity Series races, and select NASCAR Regional & Touring Series events in 2018. NBC Sports Group’s NASCAR programming also includes NBCSN’s daily motorsports show NASCAR America, coverage of NASCAR’s Awards Ceremonies, the annual NASCAR Hall of Fame induction ceremony, as well as original programming specials.


For more information about NBC Sports Group shows and properties, including press releases, photos, talent and executive bios and headshots, please visit