Wednesday, September 27th, 2017


NBC Sports Group to Dedicate More than 60 Live Hours to 2017
Presidents Cup from New York Metropolitan Area, Sept. 25-Oct. 1 Tour Championship to Award 25 PGA TOUR Cards for 2017-18

Garcia, Kaymer Headline British Masters on European Tour

LPGA, LET in South Pacific for McKayson New Zealand Women’s Open

ORLANDO, Fla. (September 27, 2017)Professional golf will ascend upon the New York metropolitan area as NBC Sports Group will dedicate more than 60 live hours of coverage to the 2017 Presidents Cup, the biennial international match play competition taking place Sept. 25-Oct. 1 at Liberty National Golf Club in Jersey City, New Jersey. Golf Channel and NBC will combine to showcase the event that will feature 12 of the top male golfers in the United States against 12 of the best from the rest of the world (outside of Europe). The Tour Finals culminate this week in Atlantic Beach, Fla., with the Tour Championship, where an additional 25 PGA TOUR cards will be awarded for the 2017-18 season. Sergio Garcia and Martin Kaymer headline the field on the European Tour at the British Masters, while the LPGA and Ladies European Tours convene for the McKayson New Zealand Women’s Open.


The Presidents Cup
Dates: September 28-Oct. 1
Venue: Liberty National Golf Club, Jersey City, N.J.

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         1-6 p.m. (Live) / 8 p.m.-1 a.m. (Replay)
Friday              11:30 a.m.-6 p.m. (Live) / 8 p.m.-2:30 a.m. (Replay)
Saturday          8 p.m.-2 a.m. (Replay)
Sunday            8 p.m.-2 a.m. (Replay)

Tournament Airtimes on NBC (Eastern):
Saturday          8 a.m.-6 p.m. (Live)
Sunday            Noon-6 p.m. (Live)

Broadcast Notes:
Format: The biennial match play event will feature five foursomes matches contested on Day 1; five four-ball matches on Day 2, four morning foursomes and four afternoon four-ball matches on Day 3, and 12 singles matches on the Final Day. The winning team must earn 15 ½ points to win the Presidents Cup, and each player will be required to compete in at least two of the four sessions prior to the singles matches on Sunday.
Event coverage: Nearly 30 hours of live tournament coverage (Thursday-Friday on Golf Channel; Saturday-Sunday on NBC) will be complemented by more than 30 hours of news programming and analysis throughout the week.
“Playing Through” commercial format returns: Making its debut on NBC at the Ryder Cup in 2016, Golf Channel and NBC will implement the popular “Playing Through” commercial enhancement for fans tuning in to the Presidents Cup. NBC Sports Group has partnered with several national advertisers to present select commercial breaks utilizing “Playing Through,” which employs a split-screen model for a select number of national commercial breaks. This enhanced break will display both the commercial with audio as well as a continuous feed of live Presidents Cup action.
Presidents Cup in Virtual Reality: In partnership with the PGA TOUR, live virtual reality coverage of the Presidents Cup is being produced from Sept. 28 – Oct. 1. Coverage will include the driving range, in addition to capturing the “fan chaos” from the opening holes of the competition with Golf Channel’s Robert Damron, Rex Hoggard and Bailey Mosier. During the competition, the app on the Oculus store, “Presidents Cup VR Live,” will provide both a live and on-demand VR experience, while the 360 video stream will be available via PGA TOUR, Presidents Cup, and Golf Channel Twitter and Periscope platforms.
United States Team: Daniel Berger, Kevin Chappell, Rickie Fowler, Charley Hoffman, Dustin Johnson, Kevin Kisner, Brooks Koepka, Matt Kuchar, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas and (captain) Steve Stricker.
International Team: Jason Day (Australia), Branden Grace (South Africa), Emiliano Grillo (Argentina), Adam Hadwin (Canada), Si Woo Kim (South Korea), Anirban Lahiri (India), Marc Leishman (Australia), Hideki Matsuyama (Japan), Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa), Adam Scott (Australia), Charl Schwartzel (South Africa), Jhonattan Vegas (Venezuela) and (captain) Nick Price.

NBC Sports’ Broadcast Team:
Play by Play:   Dan Hicks / Mike Tirico
Analyst:           Johnny Miller / Frank Nobilo / Justin Leonard
Tower:             Gary Koch / Peter Jacobsen / Tom Abbott / Curt Byrum
On-Course:      Roger Maltbie / David Feherty / Mark Rolfing / Jim ‘Bones’ Mackay / Jerry Foltz
Interviews:      Steve Sands / Jimmy Roberts
Essays:            Jimmy Roberts 

WEB.COM TOUR Tour Championship
Dates: Sept. 28-Oct. 1
Venue: Atlantic Beach Country Club, Atlantic Beach, Fla.

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         10 a.m.-1 p.m. (Live)
Friday              9-11:30 a.m. (Live)
Saturday          3-6 p.m. (Live)
Sunday            3-6 p.m. (Live)

Broadcast Notes: Tour Finals to award 25 PGA TOUR cards for 2017-18 season: This week the Tour season comes to an end at the Tour Championship, where 25 additional players will earn their 2017-18 PGA TOUR card. This is the fourth and final event during the Tour Finals where eligible players finishing 126-200 in the PGA TOUR FedExCup standings and players finishing 26-100 on the Tour season money list are competing for a card. Players having finished in the top-25 on the Tour money list already having secured their 2017-18 PGA TOUR card also are eligible to complete to try and improve their playing status for next season.
Headlining the field: Peter Uihlein, Nicholas Lindheim, Rob Oppenheim, Martin Piller, Jonathan Randolph, Keith Mitchell, Tom Lovelady, Troy Merritt and Corey Conners.

Golf Channel Broadcast Team:
Play-by-Play:   John Swantek
Analyst:           Craig Perks
Tower:             Steve Burkowski
On-Course:      Phil Blackmar / Gary Christian
Reporter:         Chantel McCabe


British Masters
Dates: Sept. 28-Oct. 1
Venue: Close House Hotel & Golf Club, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom

Tournament Airtime on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         4:30-10 a.m. (Live)
Friday              4:30-9 a.m. (Live)
Saturday          8 a.m.-Noon (Live)
Sunday            2-5 a.m. (Tape delay)

Broadcast notes:
Noren defends: Alex Noren won the event in 2016, his third of four wins on the season.
Headlining the field: Sergio Garcia, Martin Kaymer, Alex Noren, Danny Willett, Lee Westwood, Matthew Fitzpatrick and Ross Fisher. 

Golf Channel Broadcast Team:
Play-by-Play:   Dominik Holyer
Analyst:           Warren Humphreys
Tower:             Jay Townsend
On-Course:      Dales Hayes / Julian Tutt


McKayson New Zealand Women’s Open
Dates: Sept. 28-Oct. 1
Venue: Windross Farm Golf Course, Auckland, New Zealand

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         3-4:30 a.m. (Tape delay)
Friday              3-4:30 a.m. (Tape delay)
Saturday          Noon-3 p.m. (Tape delay)
Sunday            Noon-3 p.m. (Tape delay)

Broadcast Notes:
Headlining the field: Lydia Ko, Brooke Henderson, Paula Creamer, Danielle Kang, Brittany Lincicome, Catriona Matthew and Phillis Meti.

-NBC Sports Group-