Tuesday, January 3rd, 2017


Coverage of Annual Off-Road Race Begins Today at 5:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN, Continues Through Jan. 15

Combined Routes for Cars, Trucks, Quads and Motorcycles Span Nearly 5,000 Miles Across Argentina, Bolivia and Paraguay

STAMFORD, Conn. – January 3, 2017 – NBCSN presents coverage of the world’s most challenging off-road endurance race during the next two weeks, when NBCSN begins its coverage of the 2017 Dakar Rally today at 5:30 p.m. ET.

Nearly 500 competitors will race across more than 5,000 miles of varying terrain spanning Argentina, Paraguay, and Bolivia in the 39th installment of the Dakar Rally. The 12-stage event begins in Asunción, Paraguay, and concludes back in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

NBCSN will present coverage of all 12 stages of the race, beginning today at 5:30 p.m. ET. NBC Sports Group’s lead F1 and IndyCar play-by-play voice Leigh Diffey will provide commentary throughout NBCSN’s Dakar Rally coverage, which concludes on Jan. 15. and the NBC Sports app — NBC Sports Group’s live streaming platforms for desktops, mobile devices, tablets, and connected TVs — will stream NBCSN’s 2017 Dakar Rally coverage.

Twelve-time Dakar winner Stephane Peterhansel (Peugeot) leads the car category, while Toby Price (Red Bull) aims to defend his win in the motorcycle class, after becoming the first Australian to win the Dakar. American Ricky Brabec (Honda) hopes to build off his ninth place finish in the quad class in 2016, and Gerard de Rooy (Iveco) attempts to defend his win in the truck class last year.

Following is NBCSN’s complete next-day coverage of the 2017 Dakar Rally:

Date Coverage Time (ET)
Tues., January 3 Stage 1 – Asunción to Resistencia 5:30 p.m.
Wed., January 4 Stage 2 – Resistencia to San Miguel de Tucumán 6:30 p.m.
Thur., January 5 Stage 3 – San Miguel de Tucumán to San Salvador De Jujuy 6:30 p.m.
Fri., January 6 Stage 4 – San Salvador De Jujuy to Tupiza 6:30 p.m.
Sat., January 7 Stage 5 – Tupiza to Oruro 12 p.m.
Sun., January 8 Stage 6 – Oruro to La Paz 6:30 p.m.
Mon., January 9 Stage 7 – La Paz to Uyuni 6:30 p.m.
Tues., January 10 Rest Day 6:30 p.m.
Wed., January 11 Stage 8 – Uyuni to Salta 6:30 p.m.
Thur., January 12 Stage 9 – Salta to Chilecito 6:30 p.m.
Fri., January 13 Stage 10 – Chilecito to San Juan 6:30 p.m.
Sat., January 14 Stage 11 – San Juan to Río Cuarto 6:30 p.m.
Sun., January 15 Stage 12 – Río Cuarto to Buenos Aires 12 a.m.