Wednesday, January 13th, 2016


Walker Vying for Third Consecutive Wins at Sony Open in Hawaii 

Els Headlines the Field in His Home Country at Joburg Open; 3rd Open Qualifying Series Event 

EurAsia Cup Returns for 2nd Edition of Intercontinental Team Match Play Event in Malaysia 

Eighty-One Celebrities Set to Participate in Diamond Resorts Invitational benefitting Florida Hospital for Children

ORLANDO, Fla. (Jan. 12, 2016) – The PGA TOUR will stage its first full-field event of 2016 with the Sony Open in Hawaii, where Jimmy Walker will attempt to win the event for the third consecutive year. Golf Channel’s evening news program, Golf Central, will originate from Waialae Country Club in Honolulu for the first time, with Ryan Burr, Brandel Chamblee, Notah Begay, Mark Rolfing and Steve Burkowski providing wraparound news coverage and analysis. The European Tour is in South Africa for the Joburg Open; the third Open Qualifying Series event which will provide the top three finishers within the top-10 not already in the field with entry into the 2016 Open Championship at Royal Troon. The EurAsia Cup makes its return in Malaysia, with professionals representing Europe and Asia competing against one another in a team match play format. And the Diamond Resorts Invitational (airing Thursday-Saturday) will feature 81 celebrities from across sports, entertainment and Hollywood, competing in a modified stableford format that will benefit Florida Hospital for Children.


Sony Open in Hawaii
Dates: Jan. 14-17
Venue: Waialae Country Club, Honolulu, Hawaii

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         7-10:30 p.m. (Live) / 2-5 a.m. (Friday replay)
Friday              7-10:30 p.m. (Live) / 2-5:30 a.m. (Saturday replay)
Saturday          7-10:30 p.m. (Live) / 2-5 a.m. (Sunday replay)
Sunday            6-10 p.m. (Live) / 11 p.m.-3 a.m. (Replay)

Broadcast Notes:
Golf Central on-site from Honolulu: Golf Channel’s evening news program, Golf Central will complement tournament action with live wraparound news coverage airing on-site from a dedicated set at Waialae CC. Ryan Burr will host, and Brandel Chamblee and Notah Begay will serve as analysts. Steve Burkowski also will provide reports and player interviews.
Walker defends: Jimmy Walker finished nine strokes ahead of the field to successfully defend his Sony Open in Hawaii title in dominant fashion.
Headlining the field: Zach Johnson, Adam Scott, Jimmy Walker, Kevin Kisner, Matt Kuchar, Steve Stricker, Brandt Snedeker, Justin Thomas, Padraig Harrington and Davis Love III.

Golf Channel Broadcast Team:
Play by Play: Steve Sands
Analyst: Peter Jacobsen
Tower: Frank Nobilo / Mark Rolfing
On-Course: Jerry Foltz / Curt Byrum
Interviews: Steve Burkowski


Joburg Open
Dates: Jan. 14-17
Venue: Royal Johannesburg & Kensington Golf Club (East Course), Gauteng, South Africa

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         5-7 a.m. (Tape delay) / 7-9 a.m. (Live)
Friday              5-7 a.m. (Tape delay) / 7-9 a.m. (Live)
Saturday          5:30-9:30 a.m. (Live)
Sunday            5-9:30 a.m. (Live)

Broadcast Notes:
Third event of the Open Qualifying Series: The event is part of the Open Qualifying Series, and the top- three finishers within the top-10 not already in the field will gain entry into the 2016 Open Championship at Royal Troon.
Largest field event on European Tour: The field will consist of 210 players, the largest on the European Tour, and the event will be held on two courses at the Royal Johannesburg and Kensington Golf Club.
Headlining the field: Ernie Els, George Coetzee, Matteo Manassero, Trevor Immelman, David Horsey, Marcel Siem, Paul Dunne, Richard Sterne, David Howell and Bradley Neil.

Golf Channel Broadcast Team:
Studio Host: Mike Ritz
Play by Play: Dominik Holyer
Analyst: Denis Hutchinson / Jay Townsend
On-Course: Paul Eales


EurAsia Cup
Dates: Jan. 15-17
Venue: Glenmarie Golf & Country Club (Garden Course), Shah Alam, Malaysia

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Friday              11:30 p.m.-2 a.m. (Live)
Saturday          11:30 p.m.-2 a.m. (Live)
Sunday            11:30 p.m.-2 a.m. (Live)

Broadcast Notes:
Team match play format: This is the second edition of the EurAsia Cup, a biennial competition between teams of professional golfers representing Europe and Asia. Following the inaugural edition of the event two years ago (which ended in a tie), the number of players on each team has been increased from 10 to 12, and the total number of matches has been increased from 20 to 24. The format consists of six four-ball matches on Day 1, six foursome matches on Day 2, and 12 singles matches on Day 3, with all 24 players competing each day. If a match is all square after 18 holes, it is halved and each team will earn ½ a point. The first team to 12 ½ points will win the EurAsia Cup.
Team Europe: Kristoffer Broberg, Victor Dubuisson, Ross Fisher, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Soren Kjeldsen, Shane Lowry, Andy Sullivan, Bernd Wiesberger, Danny Willet, Chris Wood, Ian Poulter, Lee Westwood, Darren Clarke (captain).
Team Asia: S.S.P. Chawrasia, Danny Chia, Thongchai Jaidee, Anirban Lahiri, Byeong Hun An, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Shingo Katayama, K.T. Kim, Ashun Wu, Nicholas Fung, Prayed Marksaeng, Jeunghun Wang, Jeev Milka Singh (captain).

Golf Channel Broadcast Team:
Play by Play: Dougie Donnelly
Analyst: Dom Boulet / Warren Humphreys
On-Course: Julian Tutt

Diamond Resorts Invitational
Dates: Jan. 14-16
Venue: Golden Bear Club at Keene’s Point, Windermere, Fla.

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         2:30-4:30 p.m. (Live) / 4:30-6 p.m. (Replay)
Friday              2:30-4:30 p.m. (Live)
Saturday          2:30-4:30 p.m. (Live)

Broadcast Notes:
Premiere celebrity event for charity: The three day, 54-hole celebrity golf tournament is dedicated to raising money for the Florida Hospital for Children in Orlando, Florida. Eighty-one celebrities from the world of sports and entertainment will compete in the event, including Major League Baseball and NFL stars and Hall of Famers, musical entertainers, Hollywood actors and comedians.
Format: With a $100,000 first prize at stake, the event will use a modified stableford scoring system with players receiving six points for an eagle, three for a birdie, one for a par, zero for a bogey and negative-two for a double bogey or higher.
Headlining the field: Josh Donaldson, Justin Verlander, Colt Ford, Reggie Jackson, Jake Own, Jerry Rice, Marcus Allen, Tom Glavine, Roger Clemens Greg Maddux, John Smoltz, Bode Miller, Mark Rypien, Alfonso Ribeiro and Larry the Cable Guy.

Golf Channel Broadcast Team:
Play by Play: Bob Papa
Analyst: Lanny Wadkins
Tower: Tom Abbott
On-Course: Charlie Rymer / Karen Stupples / Tripp Isenhour / Damon Hack

-NBC Sports Group-