Tuesday, January 7th, 2014


Comcast SportsNet and Provident Credit Union to Donate

$20,000 to the Winning Teacher’s School 

All-Star Teacher Nomination Forms Available on,,

at all Provident Credit Union Community Branch Locations or Through Your School,

Nomination Forms Due by Monday, February 3 

2014 All-Star Teacher to Be Announced During On-Field Ceremony

at San Francisco Giants Game and on Comcast SportsNet’s Giants Pregame Live Show

SAN FRANCISCO, CA (January 7, 2014) – Comcast SportsNet (@CSNAuthentic), the home of “Authentic Bay Area Sports,” today announced the start of the 2014 All-Star Teacher Award presented by Provident Credit Union.  In its eighth year, the All-Star Teacher Award recognizes middle and high school teachers in Northern and Central California for their extraordinary dedication to their students in school and in the community.  The winning All-Star Teacher will be announced this summer at an on-field ceremony prior to a San Francisco Giants game from AT&T Park and live during a Comcast SportsNet telecast of Giants Pregame Live, and will be awarded $20,000 for his or her school.  For a fourth straight year, Comcast SportsNet has teamed with Provident Credit Union to award the winning teacher’s school $20,000, up from $10,000 in past years.

Nomination forms have been mailed to over 200 Northern and Central California schools and can also be found online at  Provident Credit Union will also have online nomination forms at and at all branch locations.  Completed nomination forms must be received no later than Monday, February 3.

Once the nominations have been received, a panel of judges will select five finalists.  Voting for your favorite among the finalists can be done online at starting Monday, April 7 and continuing through Sunday, June 1. The website will also feature biographies and short videos of the five finalists.  In addition, the finalists will be featured in personal video vignettes that will air on Comcast SportsNet, and they will be interviewed on select Giants Pregame Live and A’s Pregame Live shows.

The panel of judges consists of community leaders who will select the finalists based on four categories: Overall Commitment; Excellence in Teaching; Rapport with Students; and Level of Distinction.  This year’s elite panel of judges consists of Doug Bartlett, Senior Marketing Director, BART; John Haggarty, VP Marketing of Provident Credit Union;  Lorena Hernandez, Director of Community Investment, Comcast California; Detra Paige, Director of Community Relations, Oakland Athletics;  and Sue Petersen, Executive Director of the Giants Community Fund.

All-Star Teacher Award recipients:

2007       Michael Meneses – PresidioMiddle School, San Francisco

2008       Allen Nakamura – AlamedaHigh School, Alameda

2009       Jessica Schelegle – Sacred HeartSchool, Saratoga

2010       Zachary Swan – JeffersonHigh School, Daly City

2011       Robert “Corky” Black – OakGroveHigh School, San Jose

2012       Dr. Paul Ricks – HopkinsJunior High School, Fremont

2013       Ruben Modesto – JohnH.PitmanHigh School, Turlock


# # #