Friday, February 2nd, 2018


During the Parade of Nations, delegations will enter Olympic Stadium in alphabetical order according to the language of the host country. There are a few exceptions: as per tradition, Greece marches first and South Korea, as the host nation, marches last. Although Korean is the official spoken language of South Korea, the country’s written script is known as Hangul. The following list is the expected order of the Parade of Nations, according to the Hangul alphabet.


Greece (GRE)

Ghana (GHA)

Guatemala (GUA)

Nigeria (NGR)

South Africa (RSA)

Netherlands (NED)

Nepal (NEP)

Norway (NOR)

New Zealand (NZL)

Denmark (DEN)

Dominica (DMA)

Germany (GER)

Timor-Leste (TLS)

Latvia (LAT)

Lebanon (LBN)

Romania (ROU)

Luxembourg (LUX)

Lithuania (LTU)

Liechtenstein (LIE)

Madagascar (MAD)

Malaysia (MAS)

Mexico (MEX)

Monaco (MON)

Morocco (MAR)

Montenegro (MNE)

Moldova (MDA)

Malta (MLT)

Mongolia (MGL)

United States (USA)

Barbados (BAR)

Bermuda (BER)

Virgin Islands (ISV)

Venezuela (VEN)

Belgium (BEL)

Belarus (BLR)

Bosnia and Herzegovina (BIH)

Bolivia (BOL)

Bulgaria (BUL)

Brazil (BRA)

San Marino (SMR)

Senegal (SEN)

Serbia (SRB)

Sri Lanka (SRI)

Sweden (SWE)

Switzerland (SUI)

Spain (ESP)

Slovakia (SVK)

Slovenia (SLO)

Section 2: Parade of Nations Protocol 87

Singapore (SGP)

Armenia (ARM)

Argentina (ARG)

American Samoa (ASA)

Iceland (ISL)

Haiti (HAI)

Ireland (IRL)

Azerbaijan (AZE)

Afghanistan (AFG)

Andorra (AND)

Albania (ALB)

Eritrea (ERI)

Estonia (EST)

Ecuador (ECU)

Great Britain (GBR)

Australia (AUS)

Austria (AUT)

Olympic Athlete(s) from Russia (OAR)*

Uganda (UGA)

Uzbekistan (UZB)

Ukraine (UKR)

Iran (IRI)

Italy (ITA)

Israel (ISR)

India (IND)

Japan (JPN)

Jamaica (JAM)

North Korea (PRK)**

Georgia (GEO)

China (CHN)

Czech Republic (CZE)

Chile (CHI)

Kazakhstan (KAZ)

Canada (CAN)

Kenya (KEN)

Kosovo (KOS)

Costa Rica (CRC)

Colombia (COL)

Croatia (CRO)

Kyrgyzstan (KGZ)

Cyprus (CYP)

Tajikistan (TJK)

Chinese Taipei (TPE)

Thailand (THA)

Turkey (TUR)

Togo (TOG)

Tonga (TGA)

Trinidad and Tobago (TTO)

Paraguay (PAR)

Pakistan (PAK)

Peru (PER)

Portugal (POR)

Poland (POL)

Puerto Rico (PUR)

France (FRA)

Macedonia (MKD)

Finland (FIN)

Philippines (PHI)

Hungary (HUN)

Hong Kong (HKG)

South Korea (KOR)**


* On December 5, 2017, the IOC announced that the Russian federation will be banned from the 2018 PyeongChang Olympics. Although Russia will not be recognized at the Games, Russian athletes who are deemed clean will be eligible to compete and will participate under the name “Olympic Athlete from Russia (OAR).”


** In early January 2018, North Korea agreed to send athletes to the 2018 Pyeongchang Games. It marked a change from the last time the Olympics were held in South Korea as North Korea boycotted the 1988 Seoul Games. On January 17, 2018, officials from both countries met with the IOC and organizing committee to discuss North Korea’s participation in Pyeongchang. At the meeting, North and South Korea agreed that their delegations would match together under a “unified Korea” flag at the Opening Ceremony of the Games. The two countries have previously marched together at the Opening Ceremony of three Olympics: Sydney (2000), Athens (2004) and Torino (2006).